Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page

(The Old "Genesee Country" - West of Seneca Lake)

Ontario County in 1830

1830 Ontario County Census Index (by twp. & page)

Ontario County Information

Ontario County, NY was created in 1769 from Montogmery County. In 1795 the southeast corner of Ontario was split off to form Steuben County. In 1802 the western 3/4s of Ontario was detached to form Genesee County. In 1821 the western 1/4 of Ontario was split off to form parts of Livingston and Monroe counties. In 1823 the upper 1/3 and the lower 1/3 of Ontario were split off to form portions of Wayne and Yates counties

The townships existing at the time of the 1830 Census:

Bloomfield: 616 households
Bristol: 525 households
Canadice: 253 households
Canandaigua: 832 households
Farmington: 308 households
Gorham: 499 households
Hopewell: 328 households
Manchester: 472 households
Naples: 336 households
Phelps: 798 households
Richmond: 321 households
Seneca: 1006 households
Victor: 365 households

Note: Bloomfield was partitioned after the 1830 census
and Geneva was split off from Seneca after 1830,

Return to: "Burned-Over District" Home Page

Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page