Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page

(The Old "Genesee Country" - West of Seneca Lake)

Chautauqua County in 1830

1830 Chautauqua County Census Index (by twp. & page)

Chautauqua County Information

Chautauqua County, NY was created in 1808 from southwestern Genesee County. However, Chautauqua was not finally organized with its own county government until 1811. For that reason its residents were numbered along with those of Genesee County in the 1810 Census. Poland township was taken from Ellicott in 1832. Busti township was taken from Ellicott and Harmony in 1823. Carroll township was taken from Ellicott in 1825. Sherman township was created from Mina c. 1831-49.

Townships existing at the time of the 1830 Census:

Arkwright: 168 households
Busti: 275 households
Carroll: 168 households
Charlotte: 154 households
Chautauqua: 419 households
Cherry Cr.: 110 households
Clymer: 107 households
Ellery: 340 households
Ellicott: 350 households
Ellington: 239 households
French Cr.: 62 households
Gerry: 358 households
Hanover: 417 households
Harmony: 365 households
Mina: 248 households
Pomfret: 541 households
Portland: 295 households
Ripley: 251 households
Sheridan: 288 households
Stockton: 274 households
Villenova: 189 households
Westfield: 412 households

Return to: "Burned-Over District" Home Page

Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page