Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page

(The Old "Genesee Country" - West of Seneca Lake)

Cattaraugus County in 1830

1830 Cattaraugus County Census Index (by twp. & page)

[Note: This Page is Still Under Construction]

Cattaraugus County Information

Cattaraugus County, NY was created in 1808 from southwestern Genesee County. However, Cattaraugus was not finally organized with its own county government until 1812. For that reason its residents were numbered along with those of Genesee County in the 1810 Census. The township of Napoli was organized in 1828 but it is not included in the census indices until 1840. Its residents in 1830 were apparently enumerated along with those of Little Valley.

Townships existing at the time of the 1830 Census:

Ashford: 117 households
Cecilius: 62 households
Conewango: 315 households
Ellicottville: 108 households
Farmersville: 185 households
Franklinville: 153 households
Freedom: 258 households
Great Valley: 121 households
Hinsdale: 155 households
Little Valley: 65 households
Lyndon: 50 households
Machias: 123 households
New Albion: 228 households
Olean: 88 households
Otto: 239 households
Perrysburg: 444 households
Randolph: 150 households
Yorkshire: 141 households

Later Changes and Additions

Cecilius (Mansfield in 1831) from Little Valley c. 1828
Burton (Allegany 1851) from Great Valley 1831
Leon taken from Conewango 1832
Dayton taken from Perrysburg 1835
Persia taken from Perrysburg 1835
Rice (later Ischua) from Hinsdale c. 1835
Cold Spring from Napoli c. 1835-1849
Humphrey from Great Valley 1836
Portville taken from Olean 1837
Carrolton from Great Valley 1842
South Valley from Randolph and Napoli 1849

Return to: "Burned-Over District" Home Page

Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page