Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page

Ontario County, NY in 1820

1820 Ontario County Census Index (by page number)

Above: 1820 township lines superimposed over 1830's NY map

Ontario County Information

Ontario County, NY was created in 1769 from Montgomery County. In 1795 the southeast corner of Ontario was split off to form Steuben County. In 1802 the western 3/4s of Ontario was detached to form Genesee County. In 1821 the western 1/4 of Ontario was split off to form parts of Livingston and Monroe counties. In 1823 the upper 1/3 and the lower 1/3 of Ontario were split off to form portions of Wayne and Yates counties.

The township of Ontario was formed as "Freetown," from Williamson in 1807. The township of Freeport was ceded to Livingston in 1821 and was renamed "Conesus."

Ontario townships at the time of the 1820 Census:

Avon: 307 households
Benton: 542 households
Bloomfield: 555 households
Bristol: 398 households
Canandaigua: 750 households
Farmington: 662 households
Freeport: 220 households
Geneseo: 382 households
Gorham: 619 households
Groveland: 189 households
Henrietta: 8 households
Jerusalem: 277 households
Lima: 297 households
Livonia: 381 households
Lyons: 655 households
Middlesex: 445 households
Milo: 428 households
Mendon: 330 households
Naples: 171 households
Palmyra: 551 households
Perinton: 264 households
Phelps: 885 households
Pittsford: 240 households
Richmond: 439 households
Rush: 271 households
Seneca: 751 households
Sodus: 344 households
Sparta: 249 households
Springwater: 197 households
Victor: 322 households
Williamson: 102 households

Additional Township Changes:

Bloomfield split into East and West after 1830
Geneva was formed from Seneca twp. after 1830
Italy formed from Naples in late 1820
Manchester formed as "Burt" from Farmington in 1821
Hopewell was formed from Gorham in 1822
Canadice was formed c. 1821-29

See also:
Ontario Co. in 1830
Wayne Co. in 1830
Yates Co. in 1830

Return to: "Burned-Over District" Home Page

Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page