Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page

Niagara County, NY in 1820

1820 Niagara County Census Index (by page number)

Map above: c. 1825 townships -- (not accurate for 1820)

Niagara County Information

Niagara County, NY was created in 1808 from Genesee County. It is in the far northwest corner of New York on the boundary line with Canada. The 36 miles long Niagara River separates the two nations and holds in its upper reaches Grand Island and several smaller islands.

The first permanent American settlements in the area were amde in about 1802. In 1821 the lower hald of Niagara County was split off to form Erie County.

Niagara townships at the time of the 1820 Census:

Amhurst: 134 households
Amora: 217 households
Boston: 119 households
Buffalo: 352 households
Cambria: 186 households
Clarence: 531 households
Concord: 509 households
Eden: 185 households
Hamburgh: 356 households
Hartland: 360 households
Holland: 145 households
Lewiston: 171 households
Niagara: 87 households
Porter: 133 households
Royalton: 309 households
Wales: 161 households

Townships Added After 1820:

Lockport formed 1824 from Royalton
Newfane formed 1824 from Hartland
Somerset formed 1823 from Hartland
Alden formed 1823 from Clarence (Erie Co.)
Pendleton formed c. 1821-25
Wilson formed c. 1821-25
Wheatfield formed 1836

See also:
Niagara Co. in 1830
Erie Co. in 1830

Return to: "Burned-Over District" Home Page

Return to: Oliver Cowdery Home Page